Immaculate Heart of Mary's Hermitage

What is a Relic?

Devotion | Welcome | Home | Chapel | Horarium | Blog | Carthusians | Relics | Monasticism | Carthusians | Curriculum Vitae | Hermitage Library

First Class Relics: Remains of the bodies of saints, for example bones, hair or blood.

Second Class Relics: Second Class Relics are usally those objects used by the holy [saint] person in life, especially articles of their clothing or other objects especially associated with them.

Third Class Relics: Third Class Relics are objects, usually small pieces of cloth, which have come into contact with First Class Relics or which have come into contact with saints' tombs. Originally these relics were cloths lowered down through holes in the altars built over the tomb of martyrs or placed on the slab over the martyr's tombs, but today these relics usually have come into physical contact with the relics..

Return to Holy Relics Page

Return to Home Page

Return to Holy Relics Glossary Page



Help support us !!! As a non-profit, Immaculate Heart of Mary's Hermitage qualifies to be an Associate. At the end of each month we receive a percentage of the total purchases made through the Amazon link below. So, order your books and any gifts through our Associates link and help support the ministry of Immaculate Heart of Mary's Hermitage at the same time! Just Click Link Below to Shop Amazon.

Copyright 2001 - 2017 Immaculate Heart of Mary Melbourne Hermitage

The Webmaster does not endorse, nor control, the advertisements appearing throughout this website.